Sanctuary Agencies

After the election results came rolling in several local agencies took it upon themselves to issue resolutions declaring themselves "sanctuaries" for refugees and immigrants amid rising fears of deportation under the new federal administration. Multiple cities and counties already had policies in place and simply reissued their promises. Additionally, Senate Bill 54, introduced by Senate President Pro Tem Kevin de Leon, seeks to declare California a sort of sanctuary state.

Below we have compiled a list of cities and counties that have passed "sanctuary" resolutions, and we will continue to add more as more resolutions are passed. If we have missed your agency or if you would like to correct any information, please email and we will include it.


  • Alameda County
  • Contra Costa County
  • Los Angeles County
  • Monterey County
  • Napa County
  • Orange County
  • Riverside County
  • Sacramento County
  • San Bernardino County
  • San Diego County
  • San Francisco County
  • San Mateo County
  • Santa Clara County
  • Santa Cruz County
  • Sonoma County


  • Alameda - Alameda County
  • Baldwin Park - Los Angeles County
  • Berkeley - Alameda County
  • Cudahy - Los Angeles County
  • Davis - Yolo County
  • Emeryville - Alameda County
  • La Puente - Los Angeles County
  • Los Angeles - Los Angeles County
  • Malibu - Los Angeles County
  • Maywood - Los Angeles County
  • Oakland - Alameda County
  • Petaluma - Sonoma County
  • Santa Ana - Orange County
  • Santa Rosa - Sonoma County
  • Watsonville - Santa Cruz County


Top Stories

Thursday, March 23, 2017 - 05:36

Cities across the globe are showing solidarity with London after a terrorist killed three people and injured dozens of others outside the British Parliament on Wednesday.

Rev & Tax

Thursday, March 16, 2017 - 06:13

With soaring retirement costs and a projected $100 million annual deficit by Fiscal Year 2019-20, the City of Oakland is standing at a financial precipice that could thrust it straight into recessi