Los Angeles County Elects New Councilmembers

Eight new city councilmembers were elected to office March 5 across seven cities in Los Angeles County.

In Manhattan Beach Susan Hadley and HIldy Stern were elected to seats vacated by council members Amy Howorth and David Lesser who left due to term limits. Notably, the two women who swept this race could not stand further apart ideologically.

Residents likely recognized Susanne’s husband David Hadley - former Assemblymember and Mayor of Manhattan Beach – as he continuously remains active in the local community. Hildy’s success, on the other hand, illustrates how a progressive candidate can succeed in an off cycle election even in a conservative city such as Manhattan Beach. 

Signal Hill welcomes Keir Jones after perennial councilmember Larry Forester decided not to seek re-election.

Laura McCorkindale was elected in Hidden Hills becoming the lone female on the dais beating out incumbent Marvin Landon.

Two incumbents, Jennifer King and Betty Lin Peterson were voted out in Palos Verdes Estates while incumbent James Vandever decided not to run for re-election making way for three newcomers, Michael Kemps, David McGowan, and Victoria Lozzi.

Montebello hosted a Special election to fill the seat vacated by Vanessa Delgado, who was elected to a short-term Senate position. Voters overwhelmingly elected newcomer David Torres who beat out two former city councilmembers. Torres’ success reflects the strength of the growing progressive block of voters in Montebello that ousted three incumbents in the 2019 general and helped elect recently sworn in council members Salvador Melendez and Kimberly Ann Cobos-Cawthorne.

These wins come as cities continue to move away from odd-year election cycles. Beginning in 2020, Manhattan Beach and Signal Hill will be turning to even-year elections. Following the move there will be just four cities in Los Angeles County that will hold elections in March of odd years.

Los Angeles County will host one more election this month on March 26 for Senate District 33, vacated by Ricardo Lara’s election to State Insurance Commissioner.